green fees hotel and holiday bookings





 

Reviews


Read what other travellers and golfers have to say about some of the hotels and golf courses included at Golf in Spain. These opinions are personal visions of their authors and of their single responsibility.
If you want to write a review please do so here.


View only reviews for:
Golf Course Hotel [View All]


3.5
out of 5 (17 reviewers)

glenn melia - (25-11-15)

What a beautiful course!.... just played here on 23rd November, after playing Cala Nova (fine, but rough & ready) & Cabopino (again beautiful, but slow-going & often confusing layout).... this course was not as difficult as we were led to believe, with lush, wide fairways & some cracking 150m+ par 3's...we arrived half an hour early at 1 PM, but were allowed by the very friendly staff to play virtually straight away, with no queuing & no-one up our backsides.... OK, some of the greens were hardly billiard tables, but isn't adaptability a key factor in golf?...a lovely course, which will become a regular venue for us.

Ranked: 4 (View full Review...)


Allan B - (30-12-14)

Poor Greens. And several blind holes

Ranked: 3 (View full Review...)


Andy H - (15-09-14)

What a difference a year makes (see my earlier review 2013-11-25). When you think things can't possible get any worse they do. After our last round here (a mammoth 6 hour event) we were reluctant to give it another shot but seeing as we remember the course in its former glories we booked again for the weekend gone. What a mistake. Peering over the clubhouse balcony to see the 18th green it took our breath away. Picture the worst possible green condition you could imagine and then treble it. Sand everywhere, horrible collars, just a total joke. On enquiring in the pro shop we were referred to staff at the buggy hut who confirmed that the course had recently been hollotined and that 5 our of the 18 holes had some kind of condition with the remaining holes at about 80% of their condition. But I'm not buying that, not this time. It's not just the greens, it's everywhere, the approaches to the greens - parched, the fairway of the first hole, parched. Then we were informed that yet again the course was going to be packed with wave after wave of societies and that a 5.5 hour round was to be expected. Well, it was the last straw so we cancelled and went to play La Cala (Europa) course instead. The difference between night and day. Sadly, our love affair with El Chaparral is now over and we shan't be be back. We also played Torrequebrada on this weekend and again, a course in a different league. Very sad.

Ranked: 2.5 (View full Review...)


Jon holmstrom - (11-04-14)

Very disappointed with this course for a number of reasons. Fairways ok but difficult to assess where to place the ball without receiving a bad bounce to lose your ball. the rough is also deadly. Greens patchy. Not a place i would rush back to.

Ranked: 3.5 (View full Review...)


Andy H - (25-11-13)

I've been holding off from this review for a few months because I've played this course for the last 6 years and I truly love the layout, the clubhouse and the service. However, and this really does pain me to say this, but there are very serious issues with the condition of the course. Teeboxes are churned up, greens are patchy and sandy, fairways are neglected. What the hell has happened here this last few months??? I complained to Antonio who assured me that there was a fungal problem with the greens but returning 6 weeks later that is a hollow statement. Either way it wouldn't explain the appalling state of the teeboxes. I'm truly gutted as I seriously considered joining this club. What a relief I didn't. The members must be leaving in droves. Hated posting this review but I feel I have a duty to the golfing community.

Ranked: 3 (View full Review...)


Ash - (12-05-13)

Have played this course every year for the last 6 years and its our favourite of around 13 courses we have played. Never below 8/10 and when the greens are at their best definitely 10/10. The 11th hole is like a toboggan run and if you walk off with a par then you will carry the memory for a long time!

Ranked: 4 (View full Review...)


Ads - (23-10-12)

A very pretty and challenging golf course , how ever I will never go back the course was seriously over booked and the round took 7 hours which is just disgraceful! the staff didn't seem bothered and acted like this was the normal .

Ranked: 2.75 (View full Review...)


Andrew - (17-10-12)

Rating this course in the moment would be unfair. The course with its surrounding is one of the best and unique on Costa del sol. But,.....something happened to the course between February and October. The fairways and greens are in really bad condition. It looks that they are working on it so give them a time (we played-in rated order-Alcaidesa links, Marbella G&CC, Alhaurin).

Ranked: 3.75 (View full Review...)


My Little Town - (19-07-11)

Very pretty, but close to crazy golf. Too many narrow windy fairways squeezed into an beautiful piece of land which isn't really meant for golf.
The course was in poor condition, but, to be fair, the weather had been terrible.
Nice enough club house with decent food, and the staff, including the starter, were professional.

Ranked: 2.25 (View full Review...)


Andy H - (21-06-11)

I've played this course a few times now and it blows the likes of La Cala, Santana, etc away. Those courses are excellent but this is unique. Where would you find a pine forest on the banks of the southern Mediterranean? Search me but it's there and the course takes you on a journey through it.

The first time I played (2 years ago) the greens were a bit ropey but the last time (May 2011) they were not from this planet. It was like putting on crushed velvet. I doubt there are better greens anywhere on this Earth.

The course is a challenge even off the yellows but some of the holes are jaw dropping, one in particular, the 8th I think, is an elevated teebox and a dog leg right with the whole fairway lined by huge pine trees. It's like a white knuckle ride at a them park when you're teeing off. Mesmerising.

Club house is classy and welcoming as is the pro shop.

Doubt there are better practice facilities elsewhere on the course. Practice greens are of the same quality as those on course.

Well done El Chaparral. I have a holiday home nearby and whilst there are closer clubs to me (Torrequebrada) El Chap has a place in my heart. I'd like to take up there 'part year' membership scheme just to be a part of it when I'm over there.

Ranked: 4 (View full Review...)