Opinions of Alhaurín

Read what other people have to say about some of the golf courses included at Golf in Spain®.

Filter opinions
Skippy
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.75 /5

  • Date 03-10-15
The condition of this course was very poor. A lot of dead areas and weeds in the fairways, and large bare patches on the greens. The scenery is incredible. This tricky, challenging course deserves to be cared for better.
Chris
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.5 /5

  • Date 30-07-14
We were told beforehand that Alhaurimn was scruffy and one of the weaker courses. HOwever this son changed with the warm welcome and the fantastic practive facilities. A beautiful clubhouse an setting for a stunning and extremeley challenging 18 holes of golf. Seve, again has put his stamp on the course with the need to think over every shot, play some fades, some draws, and hit the ball both high and low. He has literally carved some holes out on the front nince out of a mountainside. Definitely a thinkers golf course! Its very easy to lose balls and rack up a huge score if you're not careful. It can be a little brutal in places. It opens up a little on the back nine, but i'd still keep the driver in the bag as much as you can. The 5th is stunning, along with the 2nd, 8th and 13th also being iconic holes. Take your camera on the 6th tee, both for the beautiful scenery and to try and guage where your ball lands! Greens were very spongy but true, and able to hit the ball into the green and stop it. Fairways were a litle patchy, but its the course layout that you will remember most. Overall a very very enjoyable golf course and highly recommended to any golfers in Costa Del Sol.
FJack Niklosis
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 07-09-13
One of the best by far. Sceanery is spectacular, fairways are ondulated, greens are well protected and manucured. Favourite hole: all of them to be honest, but number 6 will be tasting few drives...and second shots on this par five! The front nine is toping the lot to be honest, but for 50 euros with buggy and lunch, you would be mad to miss this SBallesteros course.... Be aware it is like Marmite overthere, some of my friend would rather go to the beach than play there, only because the slope is over 140....so very technical indeed. Don't be put off if high handicap...just try...it is Marmite..
William smith
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.25 /5

  • Date 13-02-13
Beware of the 13 green, we were nearly robbed. Theives hide in the bushes and sneek up behind the buggy when your on the green. The management were not interested, they said it was a sign of the times. I spoke to other people who had been robbed in other parts of the course. I live on Alhurin golf course but would not play it again.
Andrew
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 17-10-12
Each time we play this course, the fairways and greens are in fair or good condition (depending on weather). Best course for the price-the lowest for such condition of course on "costa".
3Under_69
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.5 /5

  • Date 20-08-12
Played last May with group of friends. Fantastic lay out, true Ballesteros course with ondulated fairways and tricky greens. Some of us loved it, some of us hated it...I loved it and would play again any days. 40 euros of pure pleasure and bargain!! ps: bring some balls...just in case
Dawn Davies
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.75 /5

  • Date 01-10-11
This is a very difficult golf course. You need to be low handicapper to play this course well. It was also very wet all over the course. I wouldn't play it again
ANDREJ
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.5 /5

  • Date 31-07-11
Great challenging course. Love to play it every time!
Denis purcell
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.75 /5

  • Date 03-11-08
beautiful golf course the hospitality was brilliant
Pablo banados
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3 /5

  • Date 30-05-07
Ballesteros was not the straightest player.from the tee.. the very same designer of this course wouldn't be able to play it without penalty shots. Some holes are almost unplayable. I went out of bounds on a par 4 playing not a driver, a 3 or 5 wood, but instead a straight 5 iron, that got a bad bounce on a 4 meters wide landing zone... other perfect shots went oob because they were just too good, on blind holes... absurd course, although very beautiful.