Opinions of Calanova

Read what other people have to say about some of the golf courses included at Golf in Spain.

Filter opinions
Richard M
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.75 /5

  • Date 17-04-19
Excellent course, great facilities one of the best in Spain an absolute must to play. Local Accommodation is fantastic, we rented an apartment with perfect facilities 2 minutes from the clubhouse
Michael Donnelly
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 22-08-15
An excellent course to play. We play here every year during July and noticed an improvement this year in quality of fairways and greens. Really enjoyable to play!
James Wilson
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.5 /5

  • Date 16-05-15
The new management change a lot the maintenance condition. 100% recomendable.
Alan Campbell
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4 /5

  • Date 30-04-15
Course has improve greatly since my last visit a year ago. Apparently is running under new management now and greens and bunker have been completely renovated. Not being the easiest piece of land for a golf course, the design is quite challenging and worth if you find a good deal to play it.
Jon holmstrom
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.5 /5

  • Date 11-04-14
This course was of a very poor standard having been left to deteriorate. The greens were very patchy containing large areas of sand. Fairways ok. The club are booking far too many causing delays during the round. The round took just under 6 hours on a buggy covering 8 miles. Only ereturn if you are a madman
Paul Almond
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3 /5

  • Date 01-03-14
Played here 1 March and was very disappointed with the course condition. The fairways were mainly ok but the greens were very patchy with a few of them having GUR areas. The facilities are very basic and seem to be temporary and the quality of the buggies is poor. A buggy is essential here as it is very very hilly. The course is difficult but well laid out it just appears to need quite an investment to bring the playing surfaces and facilities up to standard.
Andrew
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3 /5

  • Date 15-08-13
In first week of August we played: La Cala Europa&America, Marbella golf club, Calanova, Los Arqueros, Santa Marija, Cabopino, Alcaidesa (Hcp 13,18,22,25). Here are the reviews: La Cala Europa&America: 5, Marbella golf club 5+, Calanova: fairways 4, forgreen 3-, greens 3 (hairy) , Los Arqueros: 4,3 (good greens), Santa Marija: fairways 4, greens 3- (soft,soft, soft, hairy, nothing to compare to other courses, couldn’t putt). Even shorter course now. I was skeptic, but the stuff said we can play with buggies at 17 p.m. because we will easily come around. We had lots of traffic on the way but still make it on time. Because we finished after 9 p.m. the stuff said directly that this was the last time we did something like that…. WTF. Will not play it again but not because of this misunderstanding. A place for older or higher Hcp with nice club house), Cabopino: if La Cala is 5 I give it 4,3 like Los Arqueros (on La Cala they did really good job), Alcaidesa: If Cabopino and Los Arqueros are 4,3 it should be 4 ( a bit dry but good greens), but then Calanova and specialy Santa Marija should desert 2/3. Don’t get me wrong but La Cala and Marbella golf club were perfect, usually Los Argueros and Cabopino shuld recive 5 for such condition. I was surprised on golf courses that they war in such good condition in summer. BTW we play a lot on “costa” in all seasons. Oh, accept La Cala and Marbella they will have to work on sends some more!!!
Andy
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.75 /5

  • Date 24-04-13
Played here for the first time and wouldn't rush back based on price & condition - clubhouse adequate and changing facilities really do leave a hell of a lot to be desired to say the least....
Chris Bax
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 12-09-12
39 Euros including a buggy through GinS - what an awesome deal! course in good condition, greens great and some lovely views despite being close to the motorway. Lots of nice dog legs, plenty of downhill holes to test your club selection. A few weak holes on the back 9 (particularly the par 3s) but all in all a great value must play course. Get a buggy cos it's very hilly. Agree with others about the smart arse starter though :-)
Richard
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 04-02-12
This course gets better and better. We always seem to be a little hungover when we play but this sorts you out! Don't be put off by the golf course snobs. This will challenge you but won't destroy out