Opinions of Santa María Golf

Read what other people have to say about some of the golf courses included at Golf in Spain®.

Filter opinions
Simon Powdrell
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3 /5

  • Date 19-09-14
HSSGC 2009 Day 1 Very average course but ideal for a first round confidence boost. relatively short par 4's and most should play to their handicap here. Staff very helpful but a shame about the goddam fruit flies! Course generally in good condition but greens had lots of unrepaired pitch marks! Value for money...yes! Will I play it again...no!
Richard
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 08-09-14
A good value golf course on the strip, this offers a quality course usually in good condition at very fair prices compared to some. We have now played this half a dozen times in the past decade and it never lets us down. The 11th is an absolute beauty - proper risk/reward hole. Suprised by one of the comments on here regarding service and welcome - we've always found it to be one of the most friendly courses on the coast! I suppose we all have bad days, but we've never felt unwelcome on any of our visits - quite the opposite.
Martyn ed
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.5 /5

  • Date 17-06-14
average course buggys have to stay on path unless your a member who all seemed to have medical conditions 2 of our party had phones stolen from bags on course we played 4 courses in this area and this was the most uninviting to our party
Rob Stratford
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    1.75 /5

  • Date 16-04-14
Complained as despite we'd specifically booked a 2 ball were put with 2 members who we couldn't converse as we spoke different languages and slowed us up by over an hour as much lower handicaps - Basically treated as if we were just another golf fee and at nearly £75 each I expect more - plus don't do this course if you don't have a medical certificate as very hilly so buggy very advisable - but you have to stay on paths unless you have medical certificate so waste of time
Andrew
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.25 /5

  • Date 15-08-13
In first week of August we played: La Cala Europa&America, Marbella golf club, Calanova, Los Arqueros, Santa Marija, Cabopino, Alcaidesa (Hcp 13,18,22,25). Here are the reviews: La Cala Europa&America: 5, Marbella golf club 5+, Calanova: fairways 4, forgreen 3-, greens 3 (hairy) , Los Arqueros: 4,3 (good greens), Santa Marija: fairways 4, greens 3- (soft,soft, soft, hairy, nothing to compare to other courses, couldn’t putt). Even shorter course now. I was skeptic, but the stuff said we can play with buggies at 17 p.m. because we will easily come around. We had lots of traffic on the way but still make it on time. Because we finished after 9 p.m. the stuff said directly that this was the last time we did something like that…. WTF. Will not play it again but not because of this misunderstanding. A place for older or higher Hcp with nice club house), Cabopino: if La Cala is 5 I give it 4,3 like Los Arqueros (on La Cala they did really good job), Alcaidesa: If Cabopino and Los Arqueros are 4,3 it should be 4 ( a bit dry but good greens), but then Calanova and specialy Santa Marija should desert 2/3. Don’t get me wrong but La Cala and Marbella golf club were perfect, usually Los Argueros and Cabopino shuld recive 5 for such condition. I was surprised on golf courses that they war in such good condition in summer. BTW we play a lot on “costa” in all seasons. Oh, accept La Cala and Marbella they will have to work on sends some more!!!
Ash
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 12-05-13
Lovely open course, not too difficult, but helps build your confidence . Have played here for the last 4 years and always look forward to returning. Always friendly, and though it is busy, there is never a need to rush a round of golf in Spain
Tom Daly
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.5 /5

  • Date 03-07-11
played this in May 2006, and was impressed with the course. The course was quite difficult for me but the buggy came in handy and the scenery, especially the 14th tee was tremendous.
Martin
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.5 /5

  • Date 31-12-10
Good course but the rudest and most unhelpful staff on the coast. Asked for a buggy but they had none left, asked for a powakkady, had none left, asked for a smile but they had none left !
Rupert Paul
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.25 /5

  • Date 26-03-09
Fantastic course, a bit shorter than many, but very enjoyable. In very good condition, I played in June 2003.
Donald langford
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4 /5

  • Date 08-01-09
the course is not really hard but is a pleasure to play, detail is superb and the two times i`ve played i`ve enjoyed it and would always be happy to play it also it`s well set up to watch your friends coming in behind you or vice vercer. thankyou don langford handicap (7.4)