Opinions of Torrequebrada

Read what other people have to say about some of the golf courses included at Golf in Spain®.

Filter opinions
Allyn
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.25 /5

  • Date 09-09-21
On arrival we were pleasantly surprised. On entering the pro shop to register for our pre-booked tee time we were again pleased by a well stocked shop and professional looking set up. We had already booked one buggy and requested to pay for a second buggy so that our 2 wives would be able to accompanying us. We were advised that this wouldn't be a problem because the course was quiet. They are non golfers but just wanted to spend the day with us to take in the views. HOWEVER, we were then asked if they were correctly dressed! They were not dressed in golfing attire but were dressed sympathetically for the environment. In 40 years of playing golf I have never been so embarrassed! They were told that because one was wearing sandals and the other had no collar to their top they would not be allowed to go onto the course!! As non golfers was this really a problem? Surely some discretion could be afforded to those, who would after all, only be sat in a buggy! Despite my objection this was non negotiable, but if they wanted they could buy suitable clothing in the shop! We were planning to eat at the club after our game but, because of this, decided against it and advised the receptionist of this. We had to play the course because our green fees had been prepaid, but would have walked away if this had not been the case. It embarrassed me, my golfing partner and our wives for no reason. After our wives had left to do their own thing for the remainder of the afternoon we then went to the driving range where we saw other ladies in attire which was similarly questionable! Our game was affected by this decision, and the club probably lost +/- 200 euros through our forced change of intentions! The course was in unbelievable condition and really well manicured, and we couldn't fault our golf experience. BUT, for the reason above I'd never recommend the course to others. We were felt like we just weren't welcome and it spoilt the day for all of us. I'm not surprised that the course was quiet!
Er9
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.75 /5

  • Date 03-08-15
The course itself was in good shape and it has a enjoyable and good layout to the holes. One of the best in that respect among the course i've played on Costa del Sol. Greens are fast and true with the ball rolling where you set it to go, The fairways are green and nice. The same are the tees. Bunkers are also well manicured and nicely kept. The servicelevel I experienced on Torrequebrada is the worst I have ever experienced on a golf course around the world !!!! I have never seen anything worse. !!!! The staff in this club couldn't care less about their customers. You're not at all feeling welcome as a player at Torrequebrada, but rather given the feel of disturbing the staff working there. My experience with the staff there are that they are arrogant, unfriendly and generally grumpy. On my visit on Torrequebrada I had booked my tee-time at 8.00. Like on most other clubs you need to pay greenfee in advance of teeing up the ball. On Torrequebrada they opened the proshop at 08.15 (the guy working was probably a bit to late). When finally opening the proshop he asked "what do you want?". This was of course done in the most arrogant way possible. After my sound I had a question reardding my greenfee and approched the proshop (wouldn't call it the servicedesk!!!) again and then meet another gentleman. This gentleman was if possible even more arrogant and rude than the one I met before my round. He didn't even want to answer my question !!!!! It is really a shame that this club provides its visitors with such a horribly bad service. The course itself is in good shape and really fun to play. I would say that such a good course deserves much better people to look after it and to run it than what I actually has today
Ian
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.25 /5

  • Date 12-10-14
Dangerous Bad record of thefts from buggies whilst playing. I had valuables stolen from cart whilst teeing off. The buggy had to be parked onthe path by the tee. The culprits simply lifted the items out from above behind rock wall. Security guards know all about it. Only security guard and guys selling balls by the 7th knew vAluables were their
3Under_69
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3 /5

  • Date 06-05-14
golf course is splendid, well manicured and has aged to it. Tee boxes are all flat and tees are changed daily. Fairways are like carpet, pre rough is cut to european standard. bunkers could do with a bit more sand, but this is very personal whilst green are immaculate. All in all if you are after a very nice golf course near Malaga, then don't go anywhere. However do not expect any kind of services whatsoever, from reservation, welcome, on the course, and Bar the service is a word unknown at Torrequebrada. pathetic really and shameful. i am not going to give you details but golf is about communicating and networking....obviously they have not heard these words overthere!!
3Under_69
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    2.75 /5

  • Date 05-05-14
To be honest, this is one of the best golf course near Malaga. Mature, well maintained, manicure. Tee boxes are all flat, fairways are immaculate and green are extremely fast and true to the lines. The only downside to this golf course is the people that work there to be honest. We were a party of 7 welcomed by a Dutch man not even looking at us and asking "who are you"? in a very rude way. The rest of his interaction with us was on the level. He asked us to go and get the buggies from the caddy master....got their and the caddy master told us to get the one in front of the Pro shop. Out of 4 buggies, one had the sat nav not working and one died on the 16 hole. When we got back to the clubhouse and complaint we were told that it was our fault as we should have phoned them and let them know.....in insight she was right, however customer care is paramount to the experience and Torrequebrada is a Pit for it? THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT YOU! So, if you are in for a very nice round of golf and be treated like S..t then it is the place to go. In all fairness they are so many other golf courses around the area that you will have ample choice for much better experience. Rio Real and Malaga CC are two other nearby that we recommend.
Jim Stuart
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 09-07-13
I love this course....third time I have played it and it just keeps getting better. Sure there are some tricky holes but it's all part of the enjoyment. Congratulations to the staff, the course is in wonderful condition.
J.Terry
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4 /5

  • Date 03-04-13
Played March 2013. Course is difficult and a real test. If your hitting a ball well youll love it. Iwas so I thought the course is probably the best I've played. Conditions greens, fairways and scenery were great. Lots of hazards, different elevations and a real test. A bit pricey in March but play early for a bargain. Recommended if your playing well.
Steven Reynolds
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    1.5 /5

  • Date 28-08-12
It is amazing that the caddie master/receptionist is still employed at this course. He is quite simply the rudest most arrogant man I have ever had the misfortune to meet. Steer well away from this course. Unless of course they get rid of that useless man on reception
Paul Valmor
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 24-08-12
What a surprise! Wasn't expecting anything like it. Great layout ( you get to play all your clubs! A thinking mans course, superb carpet like fairways and true fast greens. Such a good change from the overly long wham bam golf courses usually found in the area where you usually hit a driver and then a wood or long iron. This course is what a true golf course should be! Can't praise it enough. ( I play off 2 handicap and have played courses around the world ; this one is like playing a Maui course in Hawaii it's that good! )
3uNDER_69
  • Kind of player
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 20-08-12
Played here last May with Friends from UK. Great course, nicely looked after, challenging and well manucured. Not the most welcoming of all, but this was the global impression we had from all golf courses on the Costa del Sol. Fantastic food at the restaurant...best ever Gold medal for their Club sandwich! Ole!