Opinions

Read what other people have to say about some of the courses and hotels included at Golf in Spain®.

Filter opinions
Philip O'Hanlon
  • Kind of player Pleased to break 100
  • Rating

    4 /5

  • Date 25-09-13
Played at the beginning of the month. Great course with some challenging holes. Had a good round. Friendly and professional staff. Highly recommended.
Mike Fitzgerald
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 24-09-13
Spectacular setting and a great layout. but beware stay on or close to the fairways or you will loose your ball. the staff were very welcoming and we all enjoyed our day.
Mike Fitzgerald
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    1.75 /5

  • Date 24-09-13
Stay away unless you can confirm condition has improved greatly. Poor Seve must be turning in his grave. This is a wonderful layout totally ruined by its very poor condition. you can tell the money has dried up and unless they can get some investment it wont inprove.also received a cold reception from the staff.
Mike Fitzgerald
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    3 /5

  • Date 24-09-13
Very nice course, Its a shame they let Morons play it who can't be bothered to rake bunkers and find it funny to draw pictures in them with their club. all in all very nice.
Mike Fitzgerald
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 24-09-13
Best course we played all week. great layout in lovlely condition. very good value for money. will hope to play again in the future and the staff were all very welcoming.
Peter
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 23-09-13
Have played here every year for over 20 years and believe me it is the best condition it has EVER been in.
Terry
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4 /5

  • Date 20-09-13
An absolute monster. No wonder its called the beast of Barcelona. Some breathtaking holes physically and mentally. Simply, its a must. We used Salougolf. Its just 25 mins in the van from Salou. If you can score here, you can score anywhere.
Lulu Pouroulis
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 20-09-13
Almenara Golf Course is one of the nicest courses to play. With the choice of 27 holes, with various natural environments surrounding the fairways and greens, it lends itself to tranquil hours during a round. As member, I believe my choice is excellent. I always look forward with much enthusiasm to participate in any tournaments hosted by Almenara Golf Club. Lulu Pouroulis
Diederik
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    1.75 /5

  • Date 09-09-13
We played this course in the beginning of september 2013. We had our tee time reserved at 08.00. Arriving at the golf club at 07.40 the reception was still closed. After opening at 07.50 we were told that the payment of the intermediary through which we booked our greenfee could not be validated. After waiting for over 1.5 hours in the office, without receiving any drink or whatsoever, Lo Romero found out that they made a mistake in the validation process, and that there was no problem. Due to the delay our two-ball tee time of 08.00 was now switched for a three-ball tee time of 09.30 just inbetween two fourballs. Where we normally are able to finish a round in 4 hours, now our round took 5 hours. The terrible service level of the staff could not be compensated by the facilities of the course, which are poor (small ugly clubhouse, poor restaurant & menu, dirty toilets, poor dressroom facilities). The course is in pretty good shape, but the holes show little variation. The speed of the greens is quite good but the greens are in poor condition (a lot of unrepaired pitchmarks). Don't count on spectacular views or great surroundings on this course. As there are many spectacular courses with perfect service in the neighboorhoud, we recommend avoiding this course!
FJack Niklosis
  • Kind of player Sergio García beware
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 07-09-13
One of the best by far. Sceanery is spectacular, fairways are ondulated, greens are well protected and manucured. Favourite hole: all of them to be honest, but number 6 will be tasting few drives...and second shots on this par five! The front nine is toping the lot to be honest, but for 50 euros with buggy and lunch, you would be mad to miss this SBallesteros course.... Be aware it is like Marmite overthere, some of my friend would rather go to the beach than play there, only because the slope is over 140....so very technical indeed. Don't be put off if high handicap...just try...it is Marmite..