Opinions

Read what other people have to say about some of the courses and hotels included at Golf in Spain®.

Filter opinions
TerryO
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    3.5 /5

  • Date 10-09-14
A group of 8 played ALcaidesa Links in April 2014. For the price it is a fine course, some very interesting holes. A few ordinary holes near the end but worth playing if you are in the area. Clubhouse & staff friendly & helpful. Food good & reasonable.
Richard
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 08-09-14
A good value golf course on the strip, this offers a quality course usually in good condition at very fair prices compared to some. We have now played this half a dozen times in the past decade and it never lets us down. The 11th is an absolute beauty - proper risk/reward hole. Suprised by one of the comments on here regarding service and welcome - we've always found it to be one of the most friendly courses on the coast! I suppose we all have bad days, but we've never felt unwelcome on any of our visits - quite the opposite.
Richard
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4 /5

  • Date 08-09-14
We play Rio Real every year on our annual trip to Costa Del Sol. It has never let us down, always in top condition and a warm welcome to boot makes this a definite on the itinerary. Signature hole? - not certain, but the 11th hole alone has become a firm favourite amongst all on the trip. Fair to all handicappers, some big wide open fairways mixed in with some tighter holes makes for good holiday golf.
Haybo
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    1.75 /5

  • Date 16-08-14
Played this course 4 years ago and loved it, returned last week (Aug 2014) and couldn't believe how bad condition the course was in. The fairways have long weeds growing and badly need cut, the rough is overgrown, the general condition of the course and the surrounding areas tells you the course must be struggling as very little course maintenance has taken place. Around 7th hole there is a landslide in need of repair but has been left (GUR). The Hotel adjacent to Golf Club is closed and run down, all in all the whole area is like a ghost town. Wont play again, there are too many good courses to play and wish I'd read review before booking, worst course condition I have experienced ever, I have played golf for 45 years.
Chris
  • Kind of player Sergio García beware
  • Rating

    4.5 /5

  • Date 30-07-14
Excellent set up and lovely clubhouse and practice facilities. We were advised to take a buggy as it was so hot. The starter was nice and gave some tips. Its a very tight course and any stray drives a punished by various ravines and trees. Its worth playing safe off the tee as lots of par4s will still be a mid-iron in to the green. The 3rd is a beautiful hole, driving over the water on the left. The 7th is a nice long par 5 which is a dog-leg right. Worth laying up on this as its a very tight approach. The course was in excellent condition and greens very true. They were slower than expected for this time of year but still very good. Its a course that you have to be careful but does give a few opportuntiies to open the shoulders off and hit driver off the tee, especially the back nine. You'll hit every club in your bag, playing a variety of shots, and require a strong short game to make a good score. Good luck.
Chris
  • Kind of player Sergio García beware
  • Rating

    4.5 /5

  • Date 30-07-14
We were told beforehand that Alhaurimn was scruffy and one of the weaker courses. HOwever this son changed with the warm welcome and the fantastic practive facilities. A beautiful clubhouse an setting for a stunning and extremeley challenging 18 holes of golf. Seve, again has put his stamp on the course with the need to think over every shot, play some fades, some draws, and hit the ball both high and low. He has literally carved some holes out on the front nince out of a mountainside. Definitely a thinkers golf course! Its very easy to lose balls and rack up a huge score if you're not careful. It can be a little brutal in places. It opens up a little on the back nine, but i'd still keep the driver in the bag as much as you can. The 5th is stunning, along with the 2nd, 8th and 13th also being iconic holes. Take your camera on the 6th tee, both for the beautiful scenery and to try and guage where your ball lands! Greens were very spongy but true, and able to hit the ball into the green and stop it. Fairways were a litle patchy, but its the course layout that you will remember most. Overall a very very enjoyable golf course and highly recommended to any golfers in Costa Del Sol.
Maggie Cruice
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4.5 /5

  • Date 29-07-14
Played the Levante course in July 2014. Great value for money. Welcoming and very friendly staff in the Pro Shop. The course was in great condition, challenging but not overwhelming and can be enjoyed by players with both high and low handicaps. Great views of Benidorm and the Mediterraean. Would highly recommend and I have already booked by next game!
Maggie Cruice
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    1.75 /5

  • Date 29-07-14
Played here in July 2014. Overrated, overpriced and definitely underwhelming! Course in poor condition, buggies very slow and signage very poor. Staff not very friendly or helpful. This is a 1 star golfcourse with 5 star prices - terrible value for money and just not worth the effort!
Ian Shandells
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 23-07-14
Great golf course, staff extremely welcomig and helpful. Very good condition and fantastic greens.
Ricardo martinez castro
  • Kind of player Pleased to break 100
  • Rating

    3.75 /5

  • Date 11-07-14
Greens and fairway in good condition, they have summer deals...