Opinions

Read what other people have to say about some of the courses and hotels included at Golf in Spain®.

Filter opinions
Ian
  • Kind of player Pleased to break 100
  • Rating

    2.25 /5

  • Date 12-10-14
Dangerous Bad record of thefts from buggies whilst playing. I had valuables stolen from cart whilst teeing off. The buggy had to be parked onthe path by the tee. The culprits simply lifted the items out from above behind rock wall. Security guards know all about it. Only security guard and guys selling balls by the 7th knew vAluables were their
Holger hinz
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    2.25 /5

  • Date 10-10-14
Good course, zero hospitality: third time there, third time no service in the restaurant. Four people.
Alfons Meyer
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4 /5

  • Date 01-10-14
Played course today , not easy first time , walked it and quite an exercise , but course in excellent condition , very good test of golf . Definitely worth a visit .
Daniel Schultz
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    2 /5

  • Date 29-09-14
The greens and aprons were in a dreadful condition. Big clumps of cut grass all over greens. Staff not very helpful and some very rude.
Frank
  • Kind of player Pleased to break 100
  • Rating

    2.75 /5

  • Date 20-09-14
Say good-bye to Arcos Gardens, long live Arcos Golf. Golf course was closed down from May to July 2014 due to financial difficulties of the former owner. Now new begin with a new owner. Tee boxes and fairways are partly in a poor condition, greens are playable. Price offer until end of October 2014: € 80 for 2 persons incl. buggy. View and layout of the course are still fantastic, but course needs money, water and maintenance.
Simon Powdrell
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    3 /5

  • Date 19-09-14
HSSGC 2009 Day 1 Very average course but ideal for a first round confidence boost. relatively short par 4's and most should play to their handicap here. Staff very helpful but a shame about the goddam fruit flies! Course generally in good condition but greens had lots of unrepaired pitch marks! Value for money...yes! Will I play it again...no!
Simon Powdrell
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 19-09-14
HSSGC 2009 Day 3 Played the San Roque II - this course is quite simply...STUNNING! everything about the place oozes class and the price for the new course represents unbelievable value for money! Professional outfit from start to finish and wonderful array of holes where course management a must! Greens like putting on marble - fantastic! Sensible bunker positions both adjacent to the green and on the fairway! Good variety of holes i.e dog legs, water holes, elevated tees and par 3 SI's of 7,9,11 & 14! Please go! You will NOT be disappointed!
Simon Powdrell
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4 /5

  • Date 19-09-14
HSSGC 2009 Day 2 What a refreshing change to the 'pack em in' attitude of the courses between Malaga & Marbella. We played on a Saturday and it was like 'millionaires' golf! Some breathtaking views and great reward for the golfer who can hit straight! Not the longest of courses but the stiff sea breeze can influence any card be a high or low handicapper! If you like Links courses, you wont be disappointed!
Andy H
  • Kind of player Pleased to break 100
  • Rating

    2.5 /5

  • Date 15-09-14
What a difference a year makes (see my earlier review 2013-11-25). When you think things can't possible get any worse they do. After our last round here (a mammoth 6 hour event) we were reluctant to give it another shot but seeing as we remember the course in its former glories we booked again for the weekend gone. What a mistake. Peering over the clubhouse balcony to see the 18th green it took our breath away. Picture the worst possible green condition you could imagine and then treble it. Sand everywhere, horrible collars, just a total joke. On enquiring in the pro shop we were referred to staff at the buggy hut who confirmed that the course had recently been hollotined and that 5 our of the 18 holes had some kind of condition with the remaining holes at about 80% of their condition. But I'm not buying that, not this time. It's not just the greens, it's everywhere, the approaches to the greens - parched, the fairway of the first hole, parched. Then we were informed that yet again the course was going to be packed with wave after wave of societies and that a 5.5 hour round was to be expected. Well, it was the last straw so we cancelled and went to play La Cala (Europa) course instead. The difference between night and day. Sadly, our love affair with El Chaparral is now over and we shan't be be back. We also played Torrequebrada on this weekend and again, a course in a different league. Very sad.
Michael Coffey
  • Kind of player Usually play to handicap
  • Rating

    4.25 /5

  • Date 13-09-14
Very enjoyable course and a good challenge.Staff most welcoming..will definitely be back