The Spanish Armada

During the glory days of Spanish golf in the late 1970s and 1980s, a veritable armada of talent cut a successful swathe through the European Tour, with Severiano Ballesteros, Antonio Garrido, José María Cañizares, Manuel Piñero and José Rivero all regular winners. José María Olazábal joined them in the late 1980s and Miguel Ángel Jiménez and Ignacio Garrido in the 1990s but the conquests became less frequent as the old guard sailed into the sunset. Then along came an exciting new guard of Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño, José Manuel Lara, Alejandro Cañizares, Pablo Martín, Pablo Larrazábal and Rafael Cabrera-Bello.

The women are also shining on the international stage, with Beatriz Recari (2010) and Azahara Muñoz (2012) joining the trailblazing Marta Figueras-Dotti (1994) as Spanish winners on the US LPGA Tour.

Barely one percent of the Spanish population might be regular golfers, but the country is producing some of the finest young international golfers of the modern era. Here you will find a brief profile of Spain’s best, together with posts and photos…